Oats!!! Oats are the main ingredient found in granola. But what’s so bad about oats you ask? Oats for gluten free consumers like myself were once considered taboo. The controversy surrounds the fact that most oats were not considered to be “pure” and were processed with a contaminant that people with gluten sensitivity could not tolerate. As the demand for more variety in gluten free foods rise, more research and refinement in the preparation of oats free of any gluten contaminants has become a booming and helpful source of fibrous nutrition for the gluten sensitive or allergic person. One of my favorite frozen desserts contains gluten free granola. These frozen yogurt granola cups are easy to prepare and taste great! They are creamy, sweet little treats that are perfect on a spring day.
- 1 cup granola
- 1 Tbsp. melted butter
- 1 Tbsp. honey
- 24 oz gluten free yogurt any flavor (ie Chobani)
- fruit of your choice (strawberries, blueberries, raspberries)
- cupcake holders
- Combine 1 cup granola, 1 Tbsp. melted butter, and 1 Tbsp. honey. Mix well.
- Line a muffin tin with the cupcake holders and line the bottom with equal amounts of the granola mixture.
- On top of the granola mixture, fill each cup with yogurt.
- Top with fruit.
- Freeze for 2-4 hours.
These refreshing gluten free treats can be kept frozen for a quick snack on the go, or for a light dessert after a meal. Oats have never tasted so good, and of course they are gluten free!
by Danielle Leavitt
Matzo, pronounced “mat-zah,” is a special type of bread made with no yeast or leavening. It is the traditional bread of the Jewish holiday Passover, which will be celebrated this year on April 22nd, lasting for 8 days. The history of matzo goes back to when a Pharaoh governed Egypt and the Jewish people living in the land were his slaves. The Pharaoh decided at one point to exile the slaves. Story goes that they left to cross the Sinai desert to the land of Canaan in such haste, that they had no time for their bread to rise, and thus matzo was born! Flour is used as a main ingredient along with water, oil, and salt. Finally, there is now a gluten free counterpart to those that have this dietary restriction!
Ingredients in gluten free matzo are tapioca starch, water, potato starch, potato flakes, palm oil, natural vinegar, honey, egg yolks, and salt. These flat bread matzos can be used to make sandwiches, a matzo egg scramble, or just eaten plain. They are great tasting and only 125 calories per piece! A gluten free Passover is now possible!
by Danielle Leavitt
I’m getting my sweet tooth back after a winter of warm soups and comfort food. I’m craving something frozen, with whipped cream, cookies, and peanuts….like a hot fudge sundae! This Peanut Butter Oreo Icebox Cake takes the traditional hot fudge sundae to the next level. It is easy, NO BAKE, all gluten-free, and I promise you will enjoy it. Have fun with this one! You can use many different toppings like peanuts, strawberries, M&M’s, chocolate chips, and caramel or hot fudge sauces.
- 1 16oz container Cool Whip or other nondairy whipped topping
- 1 ½ cups peanut butter, crunchy or creamy (it is easiest to use a creamier based peanut butter for mixing and spreading purposes)
- ¼-1/3 cup crushed peanuts
- 2 boxes gluten free Oreo cookies (I use Glutino brand)
- 8 x 8 aluminum baking pan lined with non-stick tin foil
- Create four rows of Oreos along the bottom of the aluminum pan
- In a separate bowl, mix the Cool Whip and peanut butter until totally combined
- Spread ½ of the peanut butter mixture over the Oreo’s, then top with another layer of Oreo’s
- Drizzle ½ cup of the fudge sauce over top
- Spread on the remaining peanut butter mixture and drizzle on top the remaining fudge sauce
- Crumble all the remaining Oreo’s and sprinkle them, along with the peanuts or other toppings, over the top
7. Place in refrigerator 4-8 hours, or preferably in freezer for 3-4 hours
8. Slice and enjoy!
Spring has sprung, and it’s great to enjoy a gluten-free frozen treat that is so easy to make and tastes great!!!!!
by Danielle Leavitt ’17
On a recent visit to my favorite local grocery store, Broadway Market, I came upon three new additions to the already plentiful gluten free snack options. The first, Annie’s gluten free Snicker Doodle Cinnamon Sugar Bunny Cookies, taste just like their non-gluten free counterpart. The perfect amount of cinnamon compliments the crunchier cookie-like taste. Annie’s has been a great source of gluten free cookies in the past, and this new addition is no exception.
Second are the Pamela’s Gluten free and Non-dairy Chocolate Chip Cookie Simple Bites. Perfect to grab and go, this bite-size version of their larger cookies are the perfect size for packing for lunch or a mid day snack. Pamela’s has been in the gluten free market for many years with excellent standout products such as their shortbread cookies and their pancake mix.
Last, but certainly not least, is a new product taking the snack food industry by storm. Anything coconut! The Dang company has certainly made their coconut presence known with a snack line of coconut chips. Boasting several different flavors, the Caramel Sea Salt are my favorite. The chips come in an easy resealable bag and can be easily carried in a backpack.
Gluten free snacking has become even easier with these three new delicious items sold conveniently at Broadway Market. Gluten free has come a long way, and it’s great to know so many great foods are making their debuts at markets here in Cambridge.
by Danielle Leavitt ’17
Hot chocolate is always my “go-to” drink in winter when I want to warm up. Just tasting that warm, soothing liquid somehow makes the snow outside disappear. Recently, I was introduced to another cup of winter wonderland: a moist and chocolaty rich cake that is made entirely in a cup. Taking only minutes to prepare, this easy recipe is cooked in your microwave and will have you satisfied and wanting more! Best of all, it can be made gluten-free!
- 5 tbsp flour (gluten free)
- 4 ½ tbsp sugar
- 2 tsp cocoa (unsweetened, most brands are gluten free except Ghirdeli)
- ¼ tsp baking soda
- pinch of salt
- ½ tsp white vinegar
- ¼ tsp pure vanilla extract
- 2 tsp vegetable oil
- 4 1/2 tbsp water
- Spray the inside of a microwave safe mug with non-stick cooking spray
- Mix the first 5 dry ingredients
- After mixing, make 3 depressions in the dry ingredients.
- Pour vinegar in one depression, vanilla in the other and the vegetable oil in the third
- Pour the water on top
- Mix well until smooth
- Microwave for 2 minutes
To make your Crazy Mug Cake taste even better you can add mini marshmallows, chocolate chips (Enjoy Life brand are gluten free), M&Ms, sprinkles, shredded coconut, etc. This easy mug cake will not only taste great on a wintery day, but you could even have a cup of hot chocolate along with it!
A quick breakfast is often necessary for a college student before early morning class. I have always searched for a delicious gluten-free food that I can quickly consume for breakfast. Fortunately for all gluten-free eaters, five new flavors of gluten-free Cheerios are now available: Apple Cinnamon, Frosted, Original, Honey Nut, and Multi Grain. The Cheerios can be found at CVS in Harvard Square. Several of my friends who do not eat gluten-free have not been able to taste the difference between regular Cheerios and gluten-free Cheerios. I enjoy eating the Honey Nut Cheerios with lactose-free milk and bananas, but the Cheerios can also be topped with several other types of fruit. Many of my friends like the Apple Cinnamon flavor the best. Additionally, the gluten-free Cheerios are a great snack for in between classes.
The process of how the gluten-free Cheerios are made is quite interesting. Wheat, rye, and barley grains are removed from the regular oat supply to make the Cheerios gluten-free. First, the oats are harvested. Normally, many farmers who grow oats rotate their crops, meaning they also grow grains like wheat, barley, and rye. These other grains normally get mixed in with the oats during harvesting and transport. To make the Cheerios gluten-free, wheat, barley, and rye are separated from the oats by a sifter. Each batch of oats is tested to make sure that on average, for every 15,000 grains of oats, there can be no more than 1 grain of wheat, barley, or rye. The oats then go to a mill that makes gluten-free flour. The flour is then checked to make sure it is gluten-free. The flour travels in dedicated gluten-free trucks, and finally the oat flour is puffed and toasted into gluten-free Cheerios. The finished Cheerios are tested to ensure they are gluten-free (http://www.cheerios.com/ourgfprocess.aspx).
Gluten-free food lovers should definitely try these five new flavors of gluten-free Cheerios. Whether you are looking for an easy and tasty breakfast or a yummy on-the-go snack, these gluten-free Cheerios are the perfect option!
Photo 1 taken from glutenfreehomemaker.com; photo 2 taken from bringmethenews.com.